TEKNO’s Will Davison has fought against an unknown tyre issue during Race 16 of the Ipswich SuperSprint for Round 8 of the Supercars Championship this weekend.


  • Will finished Practice 1 in P8.
  • Will qualified P11 for Race 16.



Race 15 – Position 19

Davison started the weekend on a positive note, opening the Round with a strong P8 Result in Practice 1.

The track conditions however had changed since Davison undertook testing at Queensland Raceway, making for a tough matchup weeks later.

Davison qualified P15 for Saturday’s 39 Lap Race and finished in P17 to close out Saturday on track.


Race 16 – DNF

Overnight improvements saw Davison qualify just outside the Top Ten in P11 for Sunday’s Race.

The Race was looking promising for Davison, but unfortunately two tyre Failures sent him off at Turn 3 both within a matter of Laps.

After two tyre changes Davison felt a third about to blow and headed into the garage.

The Team checked everything they could under race conditions but under inspection there was no issues with the car or the tyre pressures, temperatures and camber.

The team decided the safest avenue was to park the car to prevent any potential injury or car damage to Davison or the rest of the field, and will investigate the failures with Dunlop Tyres.

“A disastrous weekend, we had good hopes coming in and turned a corner Sunday morning with a much better car. Qualifying was a good step forward and the race was going well, the balance felt good but unfortunately we’ve been caught out with two tyres exploding with no idea why. A shame we couldn’t get the car to the end so now we will go back to the garage and figure out why before the next round.”


Davison will now prepare for Round 9 of the Supercars Championship at the Sydney SuperSprint on August 18-20, with all Races to be televised LIVE on Fox Sports.


  • 1 – Scott McLaughlin – DJR Team Penske: 1896 points
  • 2 – Jamie Whincup – Triple Eight: 1767 points
  • 3 – Fabian Coulthard – DJR Team Penske: 1663 points
  • 4 – Shane Van Gisbergen – Triple Eight: 1635 points
  • 5 – Chaz Mostert – Supercheap Auto Racing: 1545 points
  • 16 – Will Davison: TEKNO Autosports – 876 points